The Queenship Of Mary, 22nd August

queen_of_angels

We believe that, after her Assumption into heaven, Mary was crowned Queen of heaven and earth. Although set aside as a specific feast in relatively recent years (1954) the title and honour of Mary as Queen goes back to some of the early Church and was certainly celebrated in the medieval period when Mary became central to Catholic devotional life.

Taken up into heaven, Mary shows us the way to God, the way to heaven, the way to life. She shows it to us her children.

Mary is Queen because of her unique association to her Son, both during her earthly journey as well as in her heavenly glory. Mary has been declared Queen but is it merely a title along with others?

The title of Queen is a title of trust, of joy and of love. We know that what she holds in her hands, for the fate of the world and for us her children, is good. Mary should be called Queen, not only because of her Divine Motherhood but also because God has willed her to have an exceptional role in the work of our eternal salvation.

Mary exercises this Queenship of service and love by watching over us, her children: the children who turn to her in prayer, to thank her and to ask her maternal protection and her heavenly help, perhaps after having lost their way, or weighed down by suffering and anguish because of the sad and troubled events of life.

In times of peace and joy, or in the darkness of life, we turn to Mary, entrusting ourselves to her continual intercession, so that from her Son we may obtain every grace and mercy necessary for our pilgrimage along the paths of the world.

Novena to the Blessed Mother, Queen of Heaven and Earth

I greet you, ever-blessed Virgin, Mother of God, refuge of sinners, and Queen of the Universe.

Most loving Mother, attracted by your beauty, sweetness, and tender compassion, I confidently turn to you, and beg of you to obtain for me of your dear Son the favour I request in this novena: (mention your request).

Obtain for me also, Queen of Heaven and Earth, the most lively contrition for my many sins and the grace to imitate closely those virtues which you practised so faithfully, especially humility, purity, and obedience. Above all, I beg you to be my mother and protectress, to receive me into the number of your devoted children, and to guide me from your high throne of glory.

Do not reject my petitions, Mother of Mercy! Have pity on me, and do not abandon me during life or at the moment of my death.

Accept this offering, sweet Queen of Heaven and Earth, and obtain for me from your dear Son, Jesus Christ, the favours I ask through your intercession in this novena. Obtain for me also a generous, constant love of God, perfect submission to His Holy Will, the true spirit of a Christian, and the grace of final perseverance.

Amen.

Taken from Scott Hahn on the Queenship of the Blessed Virgin Mary